KINGFISHER Halcyon sancta

Another one of the series.

As I've said before I like to get some behavoural aspect into my bird photography and I like this one as the little bloke is really getting into the 'wacking' of the crab.
Its so intent on the process its off the branch in midair trying to get xtra force !

I had watched this bird for a little while and just prior to this picture being taken, it had sicked up its previous meal - obviously not able to digest it ? I wondered if it was taking xtra precautions with this one ?

someone asked me the other day where I find the kingfishers.
the first part of the answer is anywhere there are crabs ( at present )
reason being - now the weather has changed so has their hunting ground. In summer they are not (so much ) around the tidal areas as they are feed on grasshoppers and lizards ( basking in the sun ) on grassy slopes etc.

the second part of the answer is - you've got to hunt for them - there's nothing easy in this photographic medium/world. I go hunting most days and work hard for what I get!!
good luck!

rgds poo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.