Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Delightfully Downy

I think I am in the majority in finding these diminutive woodpeckers rather delightful.  Measuring only about 6 inches in length, they are our smallest woodpecker and can be found throughout much of the United States, Canada and Alaska.  Their preferred diet is insects (favorites being beetles and ants) and many a homeowner has discovered insect infestations thanks to these woodpeckers (who have an uncanny ability to discover trees and wood structures that have been colonized by wood-boring beetles). They are very comfortable around humans and regularly visit feeders, especially if suet is being served.  This one is a female, lacking the red cap of the males.

Thanks for the kind words yesterday!  I'm looking forward to hopefully helping other women navigate a breast cancer diagnosis.  My own story certainly isn't over yet, but I feel like it's a positive one that might be able to help someone else.  

Jax is at Day Care today where I hope they are wearing him out. He's been full of mischief this week!  I've enjoyed having a dog-free day which has allowed me to mop the floors and spend some uninterrupted time in the hide.  And I even got some seeds in pots for a cold-stratification period (which has been on my to-do list for a month!). 

Im adjusting very well to my new mono-vision lenses.  I've been having some problems with the scleral lens fogging, but that's a relatively easy fix by just taking it out and then refilling it and putting it back in.  So... no more reading glasses!  

Dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.