creative lenna

By creativelenna

Birds that visit us on the river

This is an Anhinga, hanging out at our dock drying his wings. Sometimes called a "snake bird" for swimming all the way underwater to catch fish, or with it's neck and head above water -hear's an earlier blip of mine showing that from 2012. 

This is the first photograph that I've taken with my Panasonic Lumix DC-FZ80 since April 2022, almost a year ago. At the time, I started using my Google Pixel 5a phone's camera because it was so portable, lightweight and took good photos; much improved from my previous smart phone. Also, I wasn't posting to Blipfoto at the time. I really fell out of the habit of using my "real" camera. When I retrieved it, I had to charge both of my batteries, get the manual, reset the camera settings and figure out how to take my photos out of my camera again! Fortunately the camera set up was made easier with info running across the camera's live view monitor. Keep in mind that that I'm only taking photos with automatic shutter speed and aperture at this point!!

I'm  proud that I made this leap and will continue to use both my phone AND my camera to take photos. And I am thankful for blip, as it spurred me on to reconnect with my DSLR.

We see A LOT of birds where we live on the SW coast of Florida. Here is a list of birds we've seen, either flying overhead or directly on our property on the river over the last 10 years . . .

Great Blue Heron
Little Blue Heron 
Yellow Crowned Night Heron 
Black Crowned Night Heron 
Green Heron 
Tri Color Heron 
Limpkin 
Great White Egret 
White Ibis 
Glossy Ibis 
Roseate Spoonbill 
Anhinga 
Brown Pelican 
Black Belly Whistling Duck
Sandhill Crane
Wood Stork 
Canada Goose 
Southern Bald Eagle 
Osprey 
Red Shoulder Hawk 
Swallow Tail Kite
Barred Owl
Monk Parakeet 
Nanda Parakeet 
Mockingbird 
Cardinal 
Common Grackle 
Yellow Rumped Warbler
Fish Crow
Common Crow
Common Tern
Laughing Gull
Common Sandpiper
Black Vulture 
Turkey Vulture 
Kingfisher 
Purple Martin 
Catbird 
Carolina Wren 
Pileated Woodpecker 
Downy Woodpecker 
Mourning Dove
Florida Mottled Duck
BlueJay
Palm Warbler

01.22.23  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.