It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Happy

There's way more to life than sport. It's simply something many of us do to give ourselves a happy or pleasurable feeling in the brain. Endorphins and dopamine are implicated in these happy feelings and the response they illicit can be addictive. Without the fix, life can be very sad indeed.

The brain may be a small organ but we live in our own one. It's not even a microcosm, it is our world. If we're sad in our head, then the world is sad. That's why getting injured can be so difficult. Without the fix of exercise, the world becomes a sadder place. On the face of it, a little niggle means nowt but at the same time it can feel like Armageddon. My knee has been playing up and my big race is this weekend. It's made me sad. Retail therapy required....so I bought a roller...a self-massage device that actually works. Unlike normal retail therapy, the affect is lasting. It's made my injury feel better, that on top of a proper massage from Andy at the weekend, so in turn I feel happier.

Hard swim at Moss Side too... I was smashing it but turning on my very last 50m I had a huge cramp.....argggggg paiiiiin! Alas, it was temporary. I then went home and used my new roller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.