Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Red Crossbill, RIP

Oddly, we saw this bird at the feeder today eating sunflower seeds. Later I heard a crash on one of my clean windows and he was dead on the ground. :-( I'm sorry, it's our fault. We'll bury it. You can see why it's called a crossbill pretty clearly here. they get the seeds out of cones with this beak.

A word about windows and window washing...when we built this cabin (and the guest cabin), we made the footprint small and the building tall (fits in with the tall fir and cedar trees) but when it comes time for once a year window washing I wish it was one floor. It's too much work and we can't even find someone to PAY to do it. We used to have a young guy who since decided he wouldn't get up on a ladder! I love it when they sparkle tho!

For the first time since we've been here (23 years) there is a Canada Geese nesting pair on a big rock on our beach. I hear them fending off intruders. We really don't need more Canada Geese, but maybe I can catch them hatching. Had to leave my Bushtit new in Seattle without seeing the babies. I'll bet they are fledged now.

AND, with no grandchildren here I got my first ride in the inflatable with the new electric motor and got some good pix of the FAT (pregnant?) seals on the rocks in our bay. But I thought the red crossbill deserved the blip.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.