Strawhouse

By strawhouse

The Only Way is Up

When I found out Dom had gone to hospital I sent him a WhatsApp sending him love, it was delivered but never read. I still look at it occasionally, wishing those two ticks were blue.
I sent mum a few messages this morning before work and again when I got there, but the ticks stayed stubbornly grey. I naturally assumed that she’d died in the night and no-one knew my details to get hold of me.
I was chatting to Mr K via text and when he suggested I call the ward to put my mind at rest I said I couldn’t face it. Maybe later. When the ticks were blue and there was no need!!
Five minutes later he said that he’d called the ward and she was fine.
I burst into tears partly because I was relieved and partly because it was such a lovely thing for him to do.
Luckily there was no one in the shop!
Mum had a terrible night. Different nurses in the new bay and much less caring than the ones she had. Buzzers not answered, meds not given, wrong dinner, water not refilled. She’s not exactly demanding but was basically completely ignored. She tried to walk up to the loo at one point and all the nurses were shouting at her apparently to get back in bed. Because she’s got Covid and they have to protect all the other patients in the Covid free bays. Mum kept saying she’s negative and they ignored her. And made her get back into the Covid pit when they should have surely been protecting her?!!!! Grrrrrrrr.
A commode was bought at 9pm and then left by her bed all night.
She just lay there crying all night apparently which is both heartbreaking and fury inducing.
The lovely Professor D was furious when he found her in that state this morning. Couldn’t understand why she was moved in the first place and all the other appalling failures. He’s initiated the complaints and investigation procedure. Not sure if it’ll do any good but at least he took it seriously and seemed genuinely angry.
I got there at about 2.30pm and stocked up on treats in M&S to cheer her up - iced spiced buns, mini eggs, chocolate covered marzipan, salted Caramel cookies and - slightly redundant - green apple and supergrain salad pot.
The registrar came round later in the afternoon and said she could go home and he would sort the meds and get back to us with discharge details.
At about 4pm the nurse came to do a Covid test which, of course, was positive. Mum was so upset having avoided it for so long. I suspect it’ll be the same for me in a few days time. Luckily she’s completely asymptomatic so hopefully it’ll stay that way.
We didn’t hear anything else about discharge until all of a sudden the dippy nurse announced the transport was here and started trying to manhandle her out of bed. I said we’d get ready in our own time and didn’t need any help. And then I blocked the two of them getting anyway near her with my body and the crutches. If it wasn’t so ridiculous it’d be funny.
They’re waiting, she kept saying.
They can wait, I kept replying, we won’t be long.
Just as the lovely paramedics were wheeling her out of the ward mum suddenly realised she hadn’t been given the meds. The dippy nurse wandered off to check and then I saw her serving someone’s dinner! The other nurse brought one paracetamol and seemed confused about what else mum was expecting. Um, morphine, laxatives, anti clot stuff, antibiotic cream for the stitches. She kept saying it would be sent to the GP.
Mum got in a tizz saying she couldn’t go home without it. She’s on a fair bit of morphine still. The paramedics agreed and it was back to bed with her. Just in time for dinner which hilariously arrived just as she got back in.
What a palava.
She actually wasn’t too bothered about staying. She’d wanted to get out to avoid Covid and that ship’s sailed.
I left at about 8pm - and had to sit in the car for ten minutes with the engine running to charge my phone so I could pay for parking! Just before Bicester I got a message from mum saying it was back on and she was leaving in ten minutes. FFS.
I had the loo frame thing in the back of my car so I called into their house with it. My dad was watching tv in the living room. I just dropped it off and left without a word. It’s been a long day and I’d just about had enough.
I did a Covid test when I got in which was surprisingly negative. Having spent all day sat next to her with the curtain round I suspect it’s only a matter of time.
Or else I’m super immune and will never catch it.
Just putting that out there into the universe!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.