Munched gears

I badly munched my gears on my way home today. I had a service a couple of weeks ago and my chain is shorter than it used to be. I forgot and tried to change down too low which resulted in a maximum stretched chain, stuck fast with no ability to change or release pressure.

Bad timing on my part as I was heading home early to meet a guy to discuss my leaking roof (earthquakes :-( ) I resisted the urge to 'pack a sad' and get mega stressed and limped my bike home in time to meet the roof bloke.

He made sense and when he returns with his long ladder (on another job at the time) he'll be able to ascertain what's going on with the second leak and if it too is attributable to earthquake damage. Of more interest/concern to me is fixing the leaks, but it's one step at a time.

Then to the bike shop. As my mate Andrew sorted my mistake I found some interesting bits and pieces to blip. He wouldn't take any $s which is very generous given the infrastructure works on the road outside which threaten to ruin his business. If you have any bike work doing see Andrew at Opawa Cycles. Top bloke.

With roof and bike stresses under control I headed off for a run up the hills. Not many people around, just a few other mad runners and a couple of walkers. I stopped and took in the view for as long as the biting easterly would allow, then descended back down in fading light.

Simple is always good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.