Dabbling

I've been trying to remember that verse from Wind in the Willows about ducks dabbling. I had a wonderful teacher as a child who would read us stories on a Friday afternoon and she put the verses in the book to music so that we could sing them. Don't you always remember the wonderful teachers? As an older child at primary school I was given the job of librarian for our class library and every Friday afternoon I had to tidy the shelves and put the books back in their rightful places. I would sit enthralled behind the bookshelves as my teacher read Jane Eyre and The Hobbit with the marvellous dwarf names. Probably the reason why I still love reading and it was one of the things I loved to do with my students when I taught English. As I taught older children, I particularly enjoyed sharing Of Mice and Men, Billy Liar, The Fib, Our Day Out, My Family and Other Animals, Saturday Night and Sunday Morning. I wonder if they are still read by young people today? I hope so.

So after a day of jobs, here is a duckling post dabbling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.