Off Piste

I will miss next week's community pottery sessions as I am off to Birmingham for a couple of days, so knowing that someone else would be there, I went along this afternoon.  I'm still making plant pot holders and trying out different decoration techniques and, inspired by the fairy house tealight holders that others have made, today I went out on a limb and tried something a little more different.  Still intended to be a plant pot holder so not a toadstool house but a tree stump house, brought to mind by the children's book 'After The Storm' where the Great Oak that all the little animals live in is brought down by gales.  Having so far tried to make regular shapes, this was a step outside my comfort zone.  I'm happy with it so far, going to try making some little animals next, to complete the effect. 

This was a good chunk of my day after spending an hour with Jamie and his new PA this morning.   Early signs are very promising and good plans have been made for support over the next two weeks.  Otherwise, a slow cooked casserole to feed us all and a walk for Meg at dusk.   More card making tonight.   Last night's efforts were delayed by assorted emails and admin jobs but the aim is to have a hundred made up to go into the shop when the railway reopens for half term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.