Looking Down...

...on the 'water feature' for lack of a better word, next to the front stairs.
We hated it when we first moved here, but it is growing on me because the birds love it and it's fun to watch them frolicking in the water, and because it is home to Fergus and friends. John still doesn't love it, but mainly because he's the one who has to clean it!

Today was a day that promised to be complicated and didn't fail although it was complicated for different reasons than we anticipated.
I had a 9am Pilates class and a 12 o'clock dental appointment. The Pilates class was good and at a better time than my usual 11am one. I've known the teacher for quite awhile and, more importantly, she knows me!
I was surprised to see how many people I knew from our late, lamented mat class.

The railing guy was supposed to come today but never showed up. It isn't an unusual story but it is still annoying, partly because we have to make sure someone is here and partly because we need the railings!

John had an appointment with the dermatologist today and I spent quite a bit of time coaching John on what to say, and ask. He was told that he should come back in two weeks for the Dupixent shot. Some research revealed that it costs $4,000 a shot and needs to be taken every two to four weeks.  I was already a bit annoyed that John wasn't told any of these things, forcing me to investigate via Google which is usually not a good idea. After several phone calls, including one to the dermatology office and a somewhat mysterious phone call from somebody in a compounding lab in Texas, it turns out that the insurance will pay some of it but it still would cost $2,000. 

I came home from the dentist, after complaining to the hygenist that I hadn't seen the dentist in years because he's never there. Today he was at a dentist's convention in Hawaii. She got a bit flustered when I pointed this out to her, but cleaned my teeth very competently, as usual. I told her that, frankly, if it weren't for her I would probably change dentists.

I got home in time to hand off the car to John to go to his appointment while I waited for the railing guy. He texted me half an hour later to say that his appointment was March 15th not February. He was blaming himself for not paying attention, but I'm sure he said his appointment was in two weeks....certainly not six!  It's a good thing he had already decided that he wasn't going to pay that outrageous sums and was feeling better anyway....

Sometimes I wonder who is going crazy....me, him, or them...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.