CathyH

By CathyH

The Beauty of Water

I had the most wonderful day hiking at Woolly Hollow State Park with my sister. The Huckleberry Nature Trail tops the list of my favorite trails. It’s a well kept and well marked trail that wasn’t too strenuous. They’ve recently replaced a couple of steep areas with gentle switchbacks. It’s a beautiful about 4 mile trail around Lake Bennett. So much of the trail follows along creeks which were rushing after all the rain we’ve had lately. Waking in the quietness of the woods with only our footsteps and the rushing water was so calming. Of course, we did do a little chattering. My sister likes to talk a lot while walking, but today she was in awe of the rushing water sound.

Lake Bennett constructed inn 1935 by the CCC and the WPA was the first watershed project in the United States.

I will definitely be walking this trail again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.