Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Phoebe in Repose

A rainy, windy day where I found myself wondering "will this be the day I break my blip streak?"  But then I went upstairs and saw Phoebe snoozing on her bed (actually used to be Jax's bed before he started chewing his beds).  She just looked so peaceful and calm, so I grabbed a camera and took a few very fast pics before giving her a few treats.  I am happy to say that she seems to be doing much better and finally eating like normal. Thank goodness.  We will still need to gradually get her back onto the thyroid meds, but one step at a time.  

Phoebe will be 16 this year and we've had her for 15 1/2 of those years.  When she was 2 months old, some horrible person dumped her in a parking lot on a busy multilane highway.  Thanks to the kindness of some passerby, she ended up in a shelter and eventually at a cat rescue group.  We met here when she was about 6 months old at an adoption event and it was love at first sight.  She was so small and so scared and when I picked her up, she just trembled.  Fast forward, she is the Queen of the House now.  I've always felt that the animals we are meant to have find us.

Speaking of animals, Jax had an excellent day at day care yesterday and I am benefitting from it today since he's mostly snoozing.  That allowed me an uninterrupted hour for yoga this morning which I needed.  Because it is drizzly and rainy out, his trips outside have been extremely fast.  He's got another day at day care tomorrow since we have to drive to NY to pick up our new car tomorrow which is probably best done without 65 pounds of brindle enthusiasm.   

Heartbreaking news from NZ this week, on top of the still rising death toll in Turkey and Syria and the ongoing suffering in Ukraine.  I will probably skip the news for a few days just for my own mental health.  

And I am contemplating dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.