Patio Daffodils

My illegal daffodils at the boundary wall may have been killed off but I still have the ones in the planter on the patio which have been protected from the squirrels all winter by a complicated wire device. The unprotected tulips in another planter have not been so lucky. What with dogs, squirrels, rabbits, crows and seagulls, it’s open season for wild life in these parts.

I spent sometime in the Central Library this afternoon wandering the shelves in the hope of finding an author whose name I could remember. Why does my mind go a complete blank when confronted by shelves of books? That is a rhetorical question. I really don’t want to confront any possible explanation. I finally found a Niall Williams book I hadn’t read so there was success eventually.


It’s been a sad day for Porty daughter who had to have her cat, Prince Mikey, put to sleep today. She rescued him as an abandoned  kitten from the streets in Muscat Oman where she lived at the time. The local vet there treated him  for various ills including meningitis, the latter making which him totally deaf and marginally brain damaged, but she brought him back with her to Scotland 5 years ago. He was a very beautiful long haired cat  but he recently developed kidney disease and gum disease and it was thought in his best interests to put him  out of his misery.
He was her constant companion and his presence is a huge loss for her. RIP Prince Mikey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.