Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Birch tree in Humshaugh

This morning I was the hairdresser. Mum's hair has been washed, set and brushed. She is lucky to have lot of shiny white hair (at her age)!

After an early lunch, I did a quick walk around the village. It was a rather grey day as you can see. I noticed the catkins on the silver birch and decided to blip them.

They are delicate but plentiful and I thought they rather overwhelmed the strong trunk of the tree.

Apparently the murmuration at Wall is still going strong so I may need to go tomorrow. Let's hope for warmer light.

We had a phone call with expected but sad news tonight. Our very dear friend, Meda, has died in Sunderland. She and her husband, Douglass, were close friends of my Mum and Dad for a long time. Douglass adored Meda and called her Mimi. She has been alone for a few years, well supported by her lovely family. She died at home with one daughter and her son with her (but she waited until they had both left the room to take her last breath).

We do have lots of lovely memories of time spent with them. They were at our house for supper on the evening before my Dad died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.