The Power of the Earth

I (Annie) went out for breakfast with Karen this morning by the sea. It was a wonderful bright day, and we parked a little way away from Saundersfoot and walked along the coast path. We ate a wonderful full Welsh cooked breakfast each, looking out onto the sunny beach. Just bliss.

It was a fabulous weekend away - one of those you remember for a long time. I'm always reminded when seeing Karen and family how wonderful they all are, and how alike in so many ways Karen and I are. It really charges my batteries.

I drove home the "long way round", along the length of the A40. I realised as I drove that I was driving a CV of our lives as I went: from her present home, past her old home near Gloucester, past the beautiful Cotswold village where we both worked, and past both Witney and Oxford where I've had homes while working with her. I look forward very much to a future visit, this time taking Chris.

On my way past, I stopped off at my friend Jane's, a local artist who was exhibiting for Oxfordshire Artweeks. Local artists open their homes and studios for a few weeks, and it's always fun. Jane does some amazing colourful paintings, many of which I have on my walls.

For me (Chris), it was the Chiltern Hills Rally, an extraganza of classic cars, commercial vehicles, bikes and steam engines. Due to bad weather the event was cancelled in 2012 but thankfully today there were no such troubles. I've popped a couple of shots into the portfolio here and here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.