pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

1700

Today marks 1700 blips for me. Yet another day where I say to myself “just try and write a book one page a day - you’re basically doing that anyway - and you’ll have something in about 18 months!”

I think we all know that that book will never be written!

The morning passed in a flurry of whatsapp messages and emails, but I think everyone ended up with what they needed and nobody was waiting on me for further information, which is basically the one question I have to ask of my work colleagues: are you waiting on anything from me? As long as that answer is “no”, I tend to find that things run pretty smoothly.

Took a little head-clearing walk at lunch and crossed the Gooseholme Bridge again. There’s a lot of people who don’t like it at all, but I must confess that I do. There’s nothing else like it in Kendal.

The afternoon ran a little quieter and before very much longer, The Eldest returned home and we enjoyed some Chinese food as we sat and watched Mallrats (at her request). I used to love this film when I was younger, but being made in the mid-90’s it is very much of its time and has not aged well. 

I do have my concerns surrounding The Eldest at present, she really seems to be struggling with her “friends” (they are rarely spoken of affectionately) and was quite tearful this evening. I have never been a 17-year old girl, so I am a little outside my comfort zone here, but what I do remember of girls at schools I shall redact for fear of landing myself in hot water as the female of the species is as much a mystery to me now as it was back then!  

My advice to The Eldest (which I know is easier said than done) is simply to “do her”. She’s only got a few weeks left before exams, so get in, focus on getting the work done and the grades you need, and get out again. I’ve also suggested that she try and find a hobby outside of school where she might mix with other people. Outside of that and a cuddle I didn’t have an awful lot else to offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.