Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Rock and Roll!

Sometimes my life is just so full of excitement I find I'm overwhelmed by it all! Today I drove my posh hire car to Leith Walk and bought 14 buttons from the Hospice Shop!
Ali had a dress from Oasis which she gave me about two years ago and asked me to fix for her. It had 11 fabric covered buttons on it and by the second time she wore it, 4 had fallen off. Fortunately it was just about respectable still. Fairly pathetic standard of workmanship though
Although I have lots of buttons in my various button boxes, I didn't have 11 all the same. The hospice shop is always a good source for such things though so today I headed across town. The original buttons were creamy pink but I couldn't see anything that looked right - of course I'd forgotten to take the dress with me, duh! I came across these green ones though which I thought were the right sort of size and tone, they cost me 50p for the lot. Less than half an hour after I got home, they were sewn on, all at the same orientation too, and I was pretty pleased. The dress probably won't even fit her after all this time!
The other big excitement on Leith Walk (apart from being able to drive on it) was the final preparations being made for the start of the trams there. The road and tramways all look very fine, but the pavements, some of which have already been renewed, are in a terrible state in places. Missing and raised slabs, holes and ziggy-zaggy cycle routes. I can't see how anybody with a visual impairment or impaired mobility is going to cope even when the surfaces are good.

This evening I've been babysitting for the older two girls while their parents celebrated having some time off together, with a meal out. All is quiet here and the most likely outcome is that I will fall asleep too. As I said, my life is so full of excitement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.