The meating place

Another grey day. Alice was quite happy to go back to school today, if only to escape the incessant times tables work at home!

I went early to Paimpol market this morning, and took this photo whilst I was standing in the friendly boucherie queue. I called in at the optician's, and was told my new glasses will be ready tomorrow.

I had a brief conversation at the school gate at lunchtime with Candice's mum. Alice will go and play there at the weekend. Sadly, they have lost their lovely new puppy, and believe he's been stolen! She returned the French-UK electric converter plug that her son used on his recent school trip to Sussex. I said very little. With each pause, I try to think about what I need to say, and just as I'm getting things together in my head, she started talking about something else! Ah well.

We still need to make a firm decision on when to return. Lots of pros and cons. The biggest advantage to staying here is improving our French for another year or a few more months at least. The biggest disadvantages are lack of income and being separated from family. Do we stay or do we go - and when? It's looking like sooner rather than later. We need to inform schools of our intentions next month.

M has again been busy time-tabling. For a while I got caught up in the news via the internet, about the terrible tornado in Oklahoma, and then a suspected arson in les Amballes at home. That prompted a phone call or two!

Later in the afternoon, M went to the doctor for his monthly check-up (bilan) whilst I did some ironing whilst watching French television, before going up to meet Alice from the school bus, followed by my Skype lesson.

Nicholas came around to play with Alice later, but generally, we see him a lot less often now. When he does come, Alice is always very happy to see him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.