Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rust and Peeling Paint

Thanks to Cathy1947 for hosting TinyTuesday this month and coming up with today's theme of rust and peeling paint.  We are getting ready to refinish our deck and this is the hinge bracket with a rusted screw and a bit of the peeling gate.  Also of interest is the neat hole to the left of the frame. By process of elimination, I believe it was "drilled" by a carpenter bee although the size seems somewhat small.  

Jax and the cats let me sleep until 7:15 this morning which was very nice.  It was actually a good time to get up since I had to take our recycling out to the Lane.  Later in the morning, Jax and I took a little walk and ran into my neighbor and his "granddad" Louie (an elderly huge Great Dane).  Jax and Louie like each other and did a lot of play-bowing and sniffing and frantic helicopter tail wagging.  Eventually, however, I got Jax to sit (major accomplishment!)

This afternoon we had our 4th Nose Work class.  Today the hides were a little more difficult and they also introduced a new scent, clove.  One set of hides were under plastic chairs (just under the seat) and those seemed to be difficult for all 4 dogs in the class.  The ground hides are definitely easier and Jax did very well.  He also really seems to love it.  

The tick season is fully upon us and I removed yet another tick from myself - thankfully not too embedded.  We had such a mild winter that the tick numbers are expected to be through the roof.  We treat Jax, of course, but he can still bring ticks in so I'm not if sure he "gave" me this tick or if I just picked it up on one of my many trips outside.  I dislike them intensely.  Horrid things.  

Hubs is flying home tomorrow - can't wait to have him back here.  I always miss him so much when he is away.  

I indulged in two squares of dark with almonds today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.