An arrival

Early this afternoon, Helen arrived safely in Edinburgh on the slightly delayed Bristol flight. I met her at domestic arrivals, taking advantage of my new National Entitlement Card to travel free of charge to the airport by tram.

This was the first outing with my travel card. The conductor who was waiting for the same tram as me at St Andrew Square showed me how to use it. When I joked 'You should have said that I look too young to possess such a card', he replied 'Oh, I thought that that was an under-22 travel pass'!

Helen had to get up very early this morning to drive from Cardiff to Bristol for her flight, so we had nothing energetic planned for this afternoon. Instead we sat around the kitchen table and chatted - until the board games came out! We played Catan, Exploding kittens and Azul.

Helen engaged in intensive training during the COVID19 lockdowns. She played at least one Catan game a day (and often more) with her husband and three daughters over this period. Her efforts paid off in today's game.

This evening we walked to the Fishmarket in Newhaven for supper. Jon came along too, taking the place that would have been Sarah's had her journey gone to plan yesterday. We all loved a new Wordle-type game that Jon has started to develop.

Tomorrow we will be tourists.

Exercise today: 1 hour on the exercise bike; walking (18,023 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.