The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Build me up buttercup

Ok, so I went to a famous woodland, and ended up blipping a buttercup! Seeing as I'm always banging the drum for 'ordinary folk', as well as for those with additional needs, it seems quite fitting.

CleanSteve and I went after my work to Westonbirt arboretum, where we had a cup of coffee in a meadow and then met up with blipper Lozarithm. We'd all been there before in October: what a difference! Spring was definitely busting out all over. I had an initial sense of exhilaration, followed by a sense of what the Spanish call, ! Que demasiado! which we might translate as "my cup runneth over". There was just so much to see and photograph, and the light was so strong and bright! CleanSteve kept getting into long conversations with strangers and their dogs, and Lozarithm kept urging me on to take photos, which I was finding hard because of not being able to see my screen. Exposure compensation is the key, he said. All I can say, after today's blipping in bright sunlight, and the session under studio lights tonight, that nothing less than -1.7 works on my little compact.

However, I did get some super macro shots of dandelion clocks and daisies that I was pleased with, but I'm choosing this buttercup because the natural lighting worked well. I've cropped a little, and altered the exposure and contrast slightly, and put on a fade-in frame, but otherwise I've not played with it much. The lighting really did work! And lighting is on my mind, because we've just had our last digi photography session tonight, and we've been doing spot metering again. This is what I'd call accidental spot metering.

Song: Build me up buttercup

Thanks for all the comments of late. They are all appreciated. It seems I'm having a job replying, and an even greater job keeping up with other journals. I keep looking around, though, even if I'm not commenting as much as I'd like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.