Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

A great deal to answer for!

A regular trip to see mum today. Had a couple of small jobs to do while I was there including looking for a couple of things for my sister. Had to go rooting around amongst years, no, decades of accumulated detritus in cupboards, drawers and wardrobes at my parents house.
Buried right at the back of one I found this - my original and first ever camera - an Halina 3000. Bought by mum and dad just as I left for University in 1978. 
I used this camera for several years until I bought a Pentax ME Super in 1982 I recall. I ran many B&W films through this camera and I should still have all the negs stored away in a negative file somewhere.

Just taken the camera out of the protective case (that all cameras were supplied with then) only to find that the catch on the film door is broken. It was stuck down with 40 year old and now very gooey sellotape. The rest of the camera is still in working order, but, while I don't recall it being so, the broken catch may have been the prompt to move on to the Pentax - then, one of the most futuristic cameras. These moments have led on to great expense on cameras, lenses and much more over the years. As I said - a great deal to answer for. But also, many thousands of hours creative if somewhat frustrated enjoyment.

The extra was a moment I noticed as I went out to the bin this evening while clearing up after dinner. The setting sun was highlighting the blossom on one of the trees behind us, and, at the same time, the waxing moon (97.7%) was peeking through the flowers. Despite the small aperture, I couldn't get both the blossom and moon in focus on either of the long lenses (hand-held) even focussing between the two. So, we're left with the sunset colours on the blossom only.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.