MEET THE TINIEST CREATURE

in my garden sofar.
I had wanted to write today about the longest opening sentence in novels. I had in mind Marcel Proust of course, thought Henry James or Thomas Mann had long sentences too but probably not for their openings. And instead of counting words would it not be better to ask what makes a first sentence a poignant or intriguing or even beautiful one?
Had I not something better to do than burying myself in books?
The weather today not really wet, even if it rained now and then, but it was cold and uninviting to go outside. But I did and buried my face in the plants and flowers, looked for little visitors, the big ones being the strait cat and the raccoon at night.
The blackbird has well hidden herself in the nest, warming her little eggs.
Two little insects, small as Little Thumblings, I spot. One I had seen earlier and till now almost impossible to take a picture of. The other one I nearly missed, that small it is. I liked her immediately. Looking in my guide book I cannot discover a picture of the two insects. Too small?

My haiku:

Full moon last night shone
Over the hills and river
A silvery glance

And the proverb:

Daar is meer dan één hond die blaffer heet.

Translation:

There is more than one dog that barks (is called bark)

Edit: Ingeborg did find the name of and information about this tiny insect; it is called a struiksprinkhaan in dutch and speckled bush cricket in english. Thank you very much Ingeborg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.