Self-poised

I've watched you now a full half-hour,
Self-poised upon that yellow blue flower;
And, little Butterfly! indeed
I know not if you sleep or feed.
How motionless!—not frozen seas
More motionless! and then
What joy awaits you, when the breeze
Hath found you out among the trees,
And calls you forth again !

From Wordsworth - To a Butterfly


Enjoying a bit of sunshine amongst the sorrel and bluebells, a rather tattered peacock. A mixed day here but sunny and warm in the afternoon when grass was mown and sweet peas planted.

Well I have to confess I was not up at sparrowfart as predicted. First the news came through from Will that he had come down with Covid. Poor chap but he did say the plane and coach back to Bristol were both jammed, last day of the Easter hols.  We both immediately felt dodgy but I think that was just mind games - we shall see what happens. I rang my pal who was accompanying me bird watching and she sensibly called it off as she's off to see her grandson in Canada on Friday.
Then we had a late, long and energetic skype with Joe and Esme so it was a late night.
I will gird my loins tomorrow morning which is looking okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.