The rough weather of the cuckoo

Himself had to go into Bantry early this morning to have bloods extracted and I decided to go as well - the Bantry bit not the bloods. First I treated myself to breakfast and the most colossal portion of porridge arrived - Daddy Bear portions - complete with roasted hazelnuts and blueberries. I had to cover half of it with my serviette for I just couldn't manage it all!

Having left the Sheep's Head in sunshine the weather changed abruptly became perishing with a fierce wind. I heard a man in the newsagents say to his companion - ah yes, tis cuckoo weather. And of course it is! Do you remember when I was interviewed for Radio Kerry keep up and before I did my bit there was a somewhat lengthy chat on it being the time of the  Scaraveen or garbh shion na gcuach - the rough weather of the cuckoo. It happens between15 April to 15 May when what has been springlike weather reverts to winteriness. Spot on. Apparently it's good for the spring plants and hardens them up. Humans too. And cuckoos?  Well folklore explains that the cuckoo arrives expecting lovely warm spring weather but in retribution for her sneaky parenting is faced with cold winds and sharp frosts. 


It was market days and the stall holders were being stoical. I bought some olives and artichokes, a BVM blue linen top, some geraniums and oesteospermums (pic) and some tomato and courgette plants.


I had to smile at the new addition to the colourful houses overlooking the harbour in Bantry - what had originally been white has now gone a seriously wild yellow!  Remember this Veronica?


And thanks for all the interest in yesterday's revelation. We've just had a new much more doable printing quote which is encouraging and are just waiting on some book examples. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.