Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Memory

Feeling a little "under the weather" today - think it was a combination of wine and too much rich food at Michael's party last night and I was in bed just after 10 p.m. so apologies that I didn't comment on many blips - even Mr. HCB was surprised that I was in bed that early!

After I had had my Quiet Time today, I was wondering what I could do for the May HeartFreek Photo Challenge for the word memory and as my Bible contains lots of bookmarks and photographs had a look through them.

Came across this photograph which must have been taken about 21 years ago, as my dear friend, Ann, died 20 years ago this November. Ann was a librarian, a tall, beautiful and elegant lady - we were very different, but we became firm friends. I often used to sit with her husband, who was terminally ill, when she had a late shift. Then after he died, we became even closer and she was my best friend - we could tell each other anything and we spent many happy hours together.

She had married again, and our friendship continued but then sadly she too became ill and it was discovered she had a brain tumour. We often visited her in hospital in Oxford and her husband and Mr HCB used to go out to have a drink and a chat while I stayed with Ann. She couldn't talk very well, so I just chatted about our family, told her what we had been up to recently, and often read to her or simply just sat and held her hand. During those special times, we told each other how much we had appreciated our friendship and how much we loved each other - not something we British are terribly good at doing - but we did it!

Then I had a note in the post from her saying she loved us loads, thanked us for our help and support and could she make an appointment for me to teach her how to write more clearly - not quite calligraphy! She always used to say she wished she could write as well as me and I wrote to several people for her when I visited. She laughed and said that they would know she hadn't written the cards, because the writing was so good! We never did have that lesson together, as she died soon after - and I miss her so much, even after all this time. In fact, I have tears in my eyes as I type this.

I am so privileged to have had such a wonderful friend and thank God that He brought us together. We were very different, but it was true in our case that "opposites attract".

I have just spent a couple of days with another great friend, Chris, and thank God for her too. We don't see each other that often, but we are in touch quite frequently and it was so good to spend some time with her.

"When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives mean the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand."
Henri Nouwen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.