Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Can't do without....

Have been giving some thought to what I Can't do without and apart from the obvious things like husband, family, friends, and not forgetting chocolate, this challenge was exercising my mind - and then......I took off my glasses to get into the shower and there it was - right in front of my eyes - or should it be "there they were"?

Glasses or spectacles have always been a priority in our family, and I suppose that as both Mr HCB and I are very short-sighted, that's not surprising. Both our sons now wear contact lenses, but they never quite worked for me, although I did try to wear them for some months.

Looking at them reminded me of when I was about 6 years old and told the teacher that I couldn't see the blackboard and although I was allowed to sit about six feet away, I still couldn't see properly, so was taken to the school optician. The joy when I got my first pair of owl-like glasses was overwhelming and I could actually SEE what was going on all around me, but this quickly vanished when the other children started calling me "Four Eyes" and other unkind names. Of course, if I wore those sort of glasses now, they would be the height of fashion - how things change!

The glasses in the blip are sitting on something else I can't do without - the bottle of Therapist's Secret Facial Oil - something I have been using for a few years now and like to think that this "99% organic, super-charged plumping treatment for younger-looking skin" is really working and making my skin look, as it says on the pack "dewy-soft, radiant and noticeably younger"!

Of course, if push came to shove, as they say, I could do without both the above, but I couldn't do without having God in my life - and this old song Open Our Eyes, Lord, by the Maranatha Singers is true for me and I don't need glasses or special oil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.