eyesee

By davidc

A Walk in the Park

The weather has finally decided to give us some lovely sunny weather, so we took Granddog Oona to Toronto's High Park. She was very pleased with us as there's lots of areas there where dogs can be off their leash.

I was also very pleased as there were several blippertunities for wildlife shots - and (a minor miracle!) I had the right lens on the camera for them (quite a rare event for me).

So the main blip is a Northern Cardinal bird which posed nicely for me. The first extra is a red winged male blackbird hopefully (but sadly unsuccessfully) courting his potential mate - she flew off a few moments after I took the photo.

The second extra needs no explanation - and Oona (who normally goes mad when she sees a squirrel) was very patient while I faffed around taking my photo.

Addition: My Daughter-in-Law pointed out that it's a full moon tonight and the sky is lovely and clear. According to Google, some native American tribes call this a "Flower Moon" as it coincides with the appearance of lots of flowers in spring. So I popped out for a moon photo - see the 3rd extra. (For techies: 300mm lens with 2x converter, Micro 4/3 camera so full frame equivalent 1200mm lens, using OM1 hand-held hi-res mode producing a 50mP file which had to be cropped a bit. I don't have a tripod with me so couldn't use tripod hi-res mode.)

Now another reminder: Tomorrow (May 6th) is this month's hosted Silly Saturday challenge, in memory of course of Admirer. Pinkhairedlady has kindly agreed to host this month so please don't get too distracted by the Coronation and put your thinking cap on and come up with lots of silly, daft or just plain funny blips to entertain her. Look for something which would have made Admirer chuckle! The tags will be SilSMay2023 or SilS344.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.