carliewired

By carliewired

58 F / 14 C

It's a dismal, wet
morning for all, but my 'nest'
 is so warm and dry.

~carliewired

I was out the door just after 7 with thoughts to cross the river to Mission Flats to look for eagles. As I backed the car out of the driveway I caught sight of a chukar skittering through the cul de sac. I turned off the radio, rolled down the window and pulled my camera up. 

There were two chukars scouting around the cul de sac. One seemed to be following the other. Both were making their odd little noises. Were they talking to each other or trying to find the flock? 

I pulled up in front a neighbour's house to watch them. They moved over the driveway. pausing now and then. They jumped up on a cement wall, then flew up to the top of the roof to look back at me. They disappeared to the back of the house and were gone.

I was over the bridge and out to the end of Mission Flats before 8. No eagles were to be found. I suspect a muddy, fast-moving river is not the best place for them to fish. I would think the lakes above the city would be much better for fishing. 

I got a shot of the delta to the west and a look back at my bleary mountains to the east, then turned for home. As luck would have it, I spied a hawk sitting in a tree near the river. I had to stop and back up to get a photo but it kindly obliged me. This can't be a very good day for birds, in general. 

I'm in for this soggy day and working on another quilt. I'm grateful for the rain as it is much needed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.