Girl With a Pearl, a Bus, and a Twinkle In Her Eye

Here is some useful advice from real life experience: do not go to a major art exhibit on a holiday weekend when it is in the last week of its run. Although it was lovely to see The Girl and the Rembrandt drawings, the event felt more like a track meet than a museum event. At one point I was looking at her from across the room--the gawkers were at least 10 deep, and from my perspective the scale was just right-- it looked like her sweet face was part of the crowd. That is the picture I wanted, but Photography Prohibited, and there were guards everywhere.

As a consolation prize I bought The Girl With a Pearl Tea Towel, and I didn't make that up. I passed on the umbrella, the Tshirt, the notecards and the mug.

And maybe it was just me, but the eyes on this mural outside the DeYoung Museum were follow-eyes; as I walked slowly from one side to the other, this girl was watching me! I made Mr S do it too, and she eyeballed him as well. I didn't see anyone else conducting this experiment, so it is a conclusion of two: This Girl's Got Her Eye On You!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.