Himself

We were orienteering in York today. It is an annual race held on the Bank holiday. York is a busy place most of the time but on a sunny day it heaves and today was no exception. Thankfully we managed to get an earlier train and set off on our runs reasonable early, but by the time we were finishing in the centre of the city, the crowds were gathering. Although it's tricky blipping runners weaving past shoppers, I find it interesting that some people are oblivious that an event is happening in their midst. I like this blip of Tony finishing because the woman on the bench obviously thinks I am taking a picture of her, whilst her husband has no idea that competitors are passing by within inches of him.

I enjoyed my run but messed up on one control which I didn't look at closely enough. York is woven through with ginnels and I picked a wrong one to go down. Two men followed me (!) I thought something wasn't quite right when we had to hurdle bags of rubbish, then I went round a corner and hit a brick wall and had to reverse (as did the guys - who didn't read their maps?!) and find the correct route. I thought I had run in York enough times not to make that mistake! Anyway I was third when we left so I'm pleased with that. Will probably have dropped a couple of places as there were still runners to come in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.