That's the Spirit!

I thought it might help on a ten hour flight to imbibe a certain amount of alcohol, enough to make me doze my way through the cattle class discomfort of the night. How wrong I was. The head rests are designed for a person of average size. I am not an average size. I turned and twisted and turned and twisted hoping to find a comfortable position, but there was none to be had.

The lights were dimmed and people slept, but not I, as I watched the progress of our flight back over California, Oregon ,Canada, Newfoundland, Greenland, the Denmark Sea, (that's a new one to me) and Iceland before arriving over home territory about 10 am GMT in sunshine but the middle of the night for us erstwhile Californians.

Heathrow was an arrivee's nightmare, with the whole palaver of going through security again, even though all we had done since the last jolly of shoes off, belts off and a body profile at San Francisco, was to sit for 10 hours on a plane.

However we are safely at the gate for the departure of our Edinburgh flight, and it looks to be on time. Now I just want to get home.

Edit: the eagle has landed: we are home with our memories and souvenirs AND it's not raining, though it's blowing a gale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.