Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Pearl-bordered Fritillary

It's been a whole week since I last went on a Butterfly Conservation walk.  Sadly the friend who takes me is currently out of action, which means the next one I'm due for isn't until Sunday week.  So today another very kind friend came with me to the New Forest to catch up with Pearl-bordered Fritillaries and other wonders.  As you see we were successful.  As you will also see, this one has blue eyes, which I believe means it's only a few hours old.

These fritillaries feed on bugle (ajuga reptans) so I've put a shot of it in Extras.  They lay their eggs on wood violets.  Why am I mentioning this?  Because I like to keep in the mood and will shortly be adding here the results of the WFW23_07 challenge.

Happy Wednesday evening/Thursday morning  xx

WFW23_07

HEARTS this week go (later tonight) to:
HelHSS
Treshnish
sk
lathyrus
hollyyoung

HON MENTIONS to:
Laurie54
Cazzfoto
Steveng
Puffin
KatesGardenPDX
HilarysView

AND my thanks to you all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.