Blipbear Touches American History

On yet another cold, windy, sometimes wet day, I didn't want to take Blipbear and Kiwi out into the elements, so I thought sharing a little of my family history with them might be a good option.

I know a great deal about my mother's side, but very little of my father's. My male maternal ancestors fought in the Revolutionary War, the Civil War (in the Confederate Army), World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and no doubt others I'm forgetting.

Blipbear and Kiwi are sitting in a basket dating back to the late 1850s or early 1860s, which my great-great-grandmother kept her darning in. My January 19, 2012 blip was about her, this basket, and her Confederate Army captain husband, and blipper musings left a comment that day that led me to a wealth of information about my family history, for which I am forever grateful.

Blipbear is holding a $5 bill* issued by The Confederate States of America (CSA) on February 17, 1864 -- one of many family history items that I inherited from my mother. The building in the center of the bill is the Virginia State Capitol in Richmond, Virginia; the portrait on the lower right is of Christopher Gustavus Memminger, the first Secretary of the Treasury for the CSA (a very interesting man, entering college at age 12 -- more here).

I suspect that Blipbear will expect cornbread, ham, and a slice of pecan pie for his supper tonight, after soaking up Southern history and culture today!

*Here is a close-up look at a similar CSA $5 bill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.