The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Tuesday 23rd May 2023)

Although I am only slighly younger than King Charles, my attempts to get the authorities to declare a national bank holiday as it was my birthday did not succeed.

I did begin the great day in style, however, with a trip to a podiatrist who gave me some nail files for my toes as a birthday present.

I also had an appointment at the BMW Mini dealership to discuss my forthcoming new car and was made a cappuccino with Mini logo patterned sprinkles (see Extra).

Further celebrations took place in Trowbridge with C. and Loki, brother of Thor, and then I parked in Marsh Lane at the bottom of the Caen Hill flight of locks. As there were no nesting swans at the top of the flight for the first time it was especially good to discover a different pair approaching the road bridge with five small cygnets. I sat on a bench seat nearby to them and did some reading for half an hour before returning home.

I took loads of photos there with my yellow K-50 but I had not yet discovered that the dial was mistakenly set at M and every single shot later had to be deleted. At least it was a user error and not a defective lens: an earlier lens of exactly the same type had developed just such an error years ago when the aperture linkage in the lens barrel had stopped working.

My Lumix LX100 came to the rescue again as I had used it to take a few shots of the swan family as they sailed away.

L.
Saturday 27.5.2023 (1312 hr)

Blip #3886 (#3636 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #008
Blips/Extras In 2023 #094/265 + #057/100 Extras
Day #4805 (1108 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3026 (#2866 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Harptones - Mambo Boogie (1954)
Occasionally preposterous, occasionally brilliant, I have been enjoying Ten Pound Poms on TV recently, not least for the soundtrack which, if accurate, suggests that Australian radio was far superior to Auntie BBC's at those times. I found a list of the songs used but I fear it was incomplete as there a few that I remembered from the subtitles that weren't in there. This doo-wop boogie was, though, and appeared in the episode that I watched on this evening.

One year ago:
Steeple Langford

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.