Heathcote River and the Port Hills, Christchurch

This view was taken in the city, in an area where much damage was done by the earthquakes. I'd stopped to look at Castle Rock (nearest to the cabbage tree), which collapsed and now looks quite different. The planting of native species along the river banks makes this stretch of the Heathcote very attractive. Snow on the Port Hills is not common. I was surprised to see more there than on the foothills at home.

This was a long, tiring day. My car had a lengthy service in Christchurch, meaning an early start and a return home in the dark. It came through well. There was no damage from our dip in the ford last week.

They gave me a courtesy car, which seemed bigger than my own car, but with half the power. I found it a bit alarming to drive and decided to go to one place and wait there until I was called. I chose Sumner, a seaside suburb that I have not visited since before the earthquakes. The road there was terrible, with rough patches, humps and hollows that made me feel sick. I feel sorry for the people who have to negotiate it daily.

Sumner was lovely in the warm sunshine. The light southerly was chilly, but Sumner is sheltered. Succulents that I consider indoor plants flourish there in the open. I went on a four kilometre walk, which is ambitious for me. My bad foot complained, but I enjoyed the walk, mostly in sight and sound of the sea.

I saw an earthquake damaged house being scrunched and the rubble being loaded onto a truck. There was a musty smell. Perhaps it had been standing empty for more than two years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.