Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just One More

Yes,  another ode today.  But can you blame me?  It's not often I get a decent flight shot of a dragon and I'm quite pleased with this one.  This is a Lilypad Clubtail (iArigomphus furcfer) and one of several that I saw while I was out in my kayak this morning.  

After dropping Jax at daycare, I took the kayak to one of my local lakes and spent several delightful hours paddling and photographing.  There was only one other boat on the entire lake so I didn't have to pay attention "traffic".  I alternated between easy paddling and parking in the reeds.  And the entire time I was serenaded by a wonderful array of birds including Orchard and Baltimore Orioles, Yellow Warblers, two vireo species, Scarlet Tanagers and many others.  The highlight was when I distinctly heard a Least Bittern calling from the reeds where I was tucked in.  Never saw it, but it was definitely in there somewhere.  

There were loads of dot-tailed white face dragons guarding territories and ovipositing in the water.  I tried to get some shots of the egg-drop but was spectacularly unsuccessful.  There were also quite a few chalk-fronted corporal dragons (honestly, who comes up with these names???) and loads of forktail damsels.  I was definitely in my happy place.

It's nearly 90 F today so I am going to stay inside for the next few hours until the sun moves a bit.  I know that Jax's play times will also be limited today as they are very careful about not letting the dogs get overheated.  

We made an appointment to take Charlie to the vet tomorrow - we suspect he is constipated but need someone to have a look.  He seems to feel okay, but still...  And Phoebe goes tonight just to get her thyroid levels checked again.  

I'm heading back to the dark with orange again today.

xo
Debbi

See Extra for one of the dot-tailed white face dragons

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.