Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Ma-rvellous!

I’ve just had a wonderful few days down in my native Sussex with my mum. Amazing weather, lots of time on the beach, great company and far too much food. Perfect!

Thanks very much, Ma Booknerd!

Today’s audio offering is a tribute to Sussex by a contemporary of my mum’s. It’s the title track of the new album by, arguably, this country’s greatest folk singer, the inimitable Shirley Collins (I blipped her back in 2017 www.blipfoto.com/entry/2307808651621961598 )

Shirley doesn’t sing this one though, instead she recites a poem, ‘Archangel Hill’ written by her father when he was serving in World War 2, and which she found in his belongings after his death https://youtu.be/2kyBcVzhSrk You can read more about Shirley and the album at www.uncut.co.uk/reviews/album/shirley-collins-archangel-hill-142629/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.