Spring Comes to the Burnt Cabin

In which we discover renewed hope for all things, perhaps even for ourselves . . .

One of the things that I enjoy most about spring is how it brings color - and hope - to even the most desolate spaces.

I've captured this burnt cabin in a few prior blips, usually in winter when its bleak, barren beauty touches a deep, lonely chord in my soul.

On this particular morning, with full-on spring marching right on into summer, I found a very different scene: the burnt cabin was surrounded by green grass and a profusion of purple wildflowers.

The sun was just cresting the top of the cabin, and the sunrise coupled with the spring colors and the purple blooms gave me a renewed feeling of hope.

These are better days baby
These are better days it's true
These are better days
Better days are shining through


The soundtrack: Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Better Days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.