analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Lost and Found. Leitz Summicron 50mm DR

Last week, as I was going through a bundle of harpsichord moldings made more than twenty years ago, this little artifact dropped onto the floor.  It was an early attempt at carving the tiny little scrolls that adorn the terminations of Italian harpsichord bridges.  As I was thinking how to photograph it, I remembered the illustration which was its inspiration: a page of Frank Hubbard's seminal work from 1965, Three Centuries of Harpsichord Making.  The volume was easily to hand, and I posed the sample in amongst Frank's exquisite drawings illustrating the details of Italian harpsichords from the 17th Century.  The volume itself, my copy in particular, is worthy of a Blip of its own, but that's for another day.  Out of curiosity, I did a Google search, and found that Harvard University Press still lists the book.  Here's a link which gives a good description of the contents and importance of this work at the time of its publication.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.