The second half of life..

By twigs

But is it photography???

Herein lies a question with no answer.   I think I know what answer I'd give, though my mind can flip-flop between arguments. 

It's been a dreary, wet day, hardly enticing photography weather so i took an alternative approach........   

'A photo-realistic image of a black cat with large white star shape under chin cooking dinner in a kitchen with wooden cabinetry.  Pouring with rain outside'  I entered this description in an AI image generator and this is what I got. Nothing like my pre-visualised image but certain elements are present, others are missing or very odd!  (( I 'removed' the logo bottom left which is now a real mess!) Is it photo-realistic?  I don't think so, but then.......??

I've noticed more and more AI elements/enhancements creeping in to Lightroom and Photoshop.  How long, I wonder, until those programs produce the whole image with no input from a 'photographer' whatsoever?  When does a photograph cease being a photograph?  How much AI manipulation is 'acceptable' in, for example, club competitions?  So many questions and, as I said at the start, no answers.  A fun filler for a rainy day though!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.