Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

More girls!

Well we all survived the night! The girls woke just after 7, can't really expect anything else when they have to be up by then if not earlier every day during the week so they can leave the house at 7.45, to get to breakfast club for 8, so mum can make it to RHCYP at Little France by 8.30, all the way across town.
I don't know how they all do it. It's a long day for all of them as they then go to after school club till 6. Somehow or other they also fit in dancing, gymnastics, skiing, Brownies/Rainbows, swimming and violin lessons. They certainly live life to the full, and seem to blossom on it.
We headed for church at around 9 50. I didn't go in for most of the service as I was organising things for the BBQ. At 11.15 though, I took the girls into church in time for me to take part in the liturgy and communion and the final hymn - a rousing John Wesley!
I had 80 rolls buttered, barbecue lit and food cooking(not me in charge of the cooking thank goodness) salads laid out, plates and bowls ready, cutlery matched into pairs, drinks and tumblers set out, sauces ready and chairs in the garden - that one was a step of faith as the forecast said 90% chance of rain from noon! l didn't do it all by myself, we had a couple of other helpers thank goodness.
The food was delicious, a very friendly atmosphere in the garden too and the rain held off till after 2pm.
We left to head home in order for the girls' parents to pick them up and take Isobel to her party in the afternoon. I don't know if the class has a lot of summer birthdays or what, maybe they are trying to fit in all the holiday birthdays before the end of term, but it all seems rather hectic.
My blip is of the two of them just about to head out to their car. Eilidh with her usual sense of fun completely laden and Isobel, always with her sense of style. The extra of Isobel I just couldn't resist as she posed in front of the mirror.
I'm blipping later today having watched Elton John at Glastonbury. It was a real trip through memory lane although you could see his age as he moved around the stage. Your Song was one of the singles which Freddie and I bought together. We bought one single a month and took it in turns to choose. I think it was 1970 and I had just turned 16. We used to buy the monthly magazine which published the words of songs too. We'd cut out the words for any we had and stick them to the record sleeve. I'm sure I've still got that single somewhere unless Breeks, of Groucho Records fame , convinced me to sell it to him one time when I was broke.
I have so many fond memories of that boy/man, right through from around 1968/9 till he died in 2019. I'm glad he missed covid though, he would have been very vulnerable!
Monday again tomorrow, where does the time go. Have a good week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.