Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Creative lumberjack

That word always makes me think of Monty Python!
We decided to go down the Water of Leith today from Newhaven Road. We parked in Bonnington Road and headed off. The sky looked a little grim but I reckoned it would stay dry. My weather app said no rain for at least 90 minutes so I left my jacket in the car.
DO NOT BELIEVE WEATHER APPS!
We walked for about 20 minutes, and had just made it back to the north bank when the heavens opened. There were trees around us, but they gave little shelter from the heavy deluge which followed. By the time we had run by the more direct route back to the car, I was soaked through. Colin, who had taken his jacket was not quite so badly off and he had a cap (and less hair too ). I was wringing the water out of my hair in the car, yuck!
By the time we reached Morrisons, the next exciting venue on our agenda it had stopped raining and the sun was shining. I was still cold and wet though and now, if you will pardon the expression, I was steaming! I had a cup of coffee to warm up.
The weather improved dramatically but it's definitely a few degrees cooler than the last few days. It dried off enough though for Colin to cut the lawn.
I went down to put chemist and downloaded their app. Apparently I can now cut out the middle man and order my repeat prescriptions from them rather than the GP and they will then deliver them to us - not sure what I think about that. I've only just downloaded the app from the GP which will allow me to order them online from them. Too many choices and not enough human contact.
Somebody on our local Facebook group is giving up being a childminder and was giving away lots of toys. I popped over and picked up a Tiny Tears doll from her complete with dummy and toilet. When I got home I decided to put doll, clothes and another baby toy I had from her into the washing machine inside a pillowcase to protect them. They came out beautifully and I've manged to brush Tiny Tears long, thick, blond hair. When I stood her on my dishrack to drip dry I remembered why she came with her own potty, lol!
Today would have been my mum's 96th birthday. She spent her 33rd giving birth to my little sister. She missed out in other ways on that birthday, she was in hospital 'waiting for the baby to be delivered' as ladies did in the 60s. I think I may have thought the postman had some role in the proceedings! Anyway..... Dad and I and my middle sis who was just 3, took mum a birthday ice cream at visiting hour. We were going to hand it through the balcony door into the ward, but when we got there they said she was busy, so my sister and I shared the ice cream! The postman came that afternoon and the rest is history, lol. Changed days. Wee sister and mum on the extra. We are both much older than mum was when she died. Life can be cruel.
Today's main blip is of a piece of creativity I snapped just as it started to rain this morning.... You can see the size of the drops!
The tree has been cleared from the path, blipper Meles will know where it is I am sure. Some branches were entwined in the fence so it was left for posterity. I think it looks like a gymnast hanging on to the bars! Someone with a sense of humour has added some very appropriate advice, to the cut surface of the trunk, which made us smile.
Thank you for the kind comments about my lovely girls yesterday. I've another story about my girls but it will keep for another day, it's 1.30 am, time I was asleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.