Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Perfectly Accessorized

I decided to take a few hours with the rental lens and z8 and wander some of the fields in the nearby state forest.  And I think I found the sweet spot for this little lens.  It kind of fits right in between a macro and a long lens for getting insects that are too skittish for the former and perhaps too small for the latter.  Anyway, I took about 300 pics which I have now whittled down to about 30.  I saw some very cool bugs but the star of the day for me was this gorgeous Baltimore Checkerspot, a species that is in decline in our state and in much of its range.  I actually saw several of these beauties.  And isn't it nice that they favor this bright orange milkweed?

It was hot again today and still poor air quality although gradually getting better.  I spent some time in the garden with Jax standing guard.  I was thrilled to see that there are now 2 Great Golden Digger Wasps working on nests in the patio.  I know, a strange thing to say until you understand that these wasps are not at all aggressive and have no "programming" to guard the nest burrow.  I love watching them excavate their burrows - amazing what insects can do even without opposable thumbs!

A long time friend of Hubs' is coming tomorrow afternoon and will stay with us for a couple of days.  It's been several years since he and Hubs have seen each other so I am sure there will be lots of stories, lots of laughs, and memories made.

Dark with dried cherries today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.