Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Bye bye Woolies

There's barely enough of a shadow on this ghost sign over what was, until recently the Coop, Scotmid, or The Store depending on what you were brought up. It was too late to use the old Divi number - 12551 in case you wondered.
This was Woolworths or Woolies from 1964 until as recently as 2008.
I had a long lie this morning, did me good too. C and I went to the frame shop in Stockbridge to have the Joan Eardsley print he bought me for Christmas framed in time for my birthday on Saturday. Framing is so expensive, I've been trying to find something the right size and shape in a charity shop, but gave into pressure just to go and get it done! It will be ready early next week and look good above the mantlepiece in the lounge.
I took a wee trip to the D'mains charity shop this afternoon and too my delight found 6 sundae dish/fruit bowls to match my Denby Troubadour dinner set. I already had 3 which wasn't quite enough. This additional 6 cost me £15, a bargain. I've been building this set up from charity shops and ebay since 2019 when I decided to replace my Botanic Garden set. I love this design. See extra. I now have full settings for 8 people (plus lots of extras) with 4 different shapes of bowl and 3 sizes of plate per person so I really don't need any more, lol. I also got a rather nice matching lidded sauce dish/sugar bowl, I've put it in as an extra to show the design. The design dates from 1971. It's great, it bounces!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.