Living my dream

By Mima

Seeds

It rained all morning, so it was the perfect time to get to grips with old and new seeds; the home-produced and commercial ones. 

The new ones arrived on Friday in a delivery which heralds the new season. I seed-save several things, but trial and error has taught me that the some crops grow best from commercial seeds. 

In six weeks I'll sow the first batch and the season will really begin. 

Other tasks this morning included mixing and proving a sourdough loaf, and making a Gouda cheese. At the moment I have three varieties of cheese in their early stages: Camemberts, a Caerphilly and now a Gouda. I need to clear the decks over the next few days before I make more. 

I've been doing some research about a childhood haunt on the Wirral which I will Blip about in due course. It's been a wonderful trip into my hazy memories, reminding me of the bonds with my brothers and parents which I so often have taken for granted. 

It is interesting that as I get older the value I place on those bonds is increasing. I wonder if that happens to everybody? I've always been pretty independent and self-reliant, but these days I realise that I've had an enormous safety net in the shape of those boys: they have given me wings all my life and I'm only just realising it. 

I have much to be grateful for - and gratitude to express to my brothers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.