Catrigg

I worked late last night in order to complete some work and give myself a day off today. I enjoyed a fabulous bike ride out to Malham and via Silverdale to Halton Gill, returning down Littondale and Wharfedale. I started under clear blue skies but by the time I reached this area, known as Catrigg, just above Stainforth, the cloud had built up and it became quite chilly. That was a cue to go up through the gears and I managed a very good tempo cycle all the way back home.

A few weeks ago I was doing about 35 miles and that felt like quite a long way. Today I covered 70 miles and it didn't feel far at all. My state of mind is changing. I've had a buzz on all afternoon and evening. For a while I've been feeling like I'll never again return to my fitness levels of the last few years but now I'm thinking otherwise. It's only a matter of motivation and application. The limitations are in my head rather than in my body. I need to keep telling that to myself like a mantra. Indeed, I think most of us could benefit from an understanding of that.

That reminds me of another great quote from Richard Bach which I've always tried to heed ...

Argue for your limitations, and sure enough they're yours.

Although, that said, I do seem to be very limited at the moment in responding to your wonderful comments. I had earmarked some time for that this evening but I've been overtaken by events. It's ended up being a very sociable day. That's unusual for me. It's been rather lovely - and the frustrations of yesterday already a distant memory. It wasn't a surprise to learn that I'm not the only one dischuffed with BT. Thanks for sharing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.