Happiness is sharing a sandwich

This painted telecommunications box was decorated in 2010 by the Auckland artist, Doug Ford. He entitled it Happy Kingslanders; it is in the city fringe suburb/village of Kingsland. This is the first such decorated box I have blipped in almost a year, and is the latest in the series I have called Painted Boxes.

Along with Sabine, Doug Ford has decorated a large number of telecommunication and traffic control boxes. I understand that he approaches local businesses (or other groups) for sponsorship, and a large paint manufacturer in New Zealand (Resene) assists.

As part of my researching about this particular box (photographed while I was on a late afternoon run today, it being a holiday in honour of the birthday of Her Glorious Majesty, Elizabeth Regina, queen of New Zealand), I discovered that he was the artist for the first such box I blipped;The Unicycle, painted in 2010.

I now know that he is the artist who did Tree Huggers also in 2010. That was sponsored by the Green Party I believe. As well as decorating the boxes, Ford does murals, including one he called Big Mural, and which I blipped a couple of years ago.

Although some of his work has been damaged by street works, much persists, especially in the west of the city. I feel drawn that way

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.