ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Stone walling

We are very lucky with our stone walls. They are the perfect backdrop for the garden of hardy perennials we are trying to create.

We also took some significant further steps forward today with the front garden, as usual as a result of sheer hard labour.

First thing this morning, we went up to Dornoch to look into whether we could hire a stump grinder. The only one they have is far too large and we wouldn't be able to transport it in the car, never mind figure out how to get it into the various parts of the garden that have stumps that need to come out.

That includes the upper level of the front garden, which I have been clearing over the last month or so. Back from Dornoch, I girded my loins and headed up there to dig out some of the stumps. There are about 8, of which I reckon 6 could easily come out and the others need painting with stump killer. I managed to get three out today, and they were the ones that were most impeding replanting the bed, which I promptly did this afternoon with a mixture of plants. Let's see how they take. But since this is the one bit of the garden that I can see from my end of the sofa, where I always sit when in Tain (such a creature of habit), I shall be able to keep a close eye on them. Meanwhile, Mr A continued the process of removing the turf from the area where he plans to build a small patio at the back. And while I was up on the upper level, KG called by with something I will need tomorrow.

Not content with clearing, shopping and planting, the final part of my active day involved a swim at Shandwick Beach with a few of the swimming tribe. It was raining when we arrived, and it had been raining quite heavily for some time and there was deep standing water on the roads over on the east side of Easter Ross. It stopped soon thereafter, and the sun came out (partially), and it was incredibly calm. It was a beautiful evening for (quite) a (long) swim, only slightly marred by one of our group suffering jelly fish stings. Not as badly as KG did yesterday, but even so not pleasant. I guess it will come to me in the end.

Home for a late supper. I'm very tired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.