carliewired

By carliewired

90 F/ 32 C

Wildfire smoke has seeped
into our valleys during 
the night - hold your breath! 

~carliewired

A thunderstorm late Thursday afternoon left us with some lightning strikes to the southeast of the city. One 'out of control' blaze is 20 km south of our city. A large area of properties have been put on evacuation alert. Homeowners and residents must be prepared to leave the area with very little notice. 

I could see the smoke drifting over our valleys on the east side of the city yesterday. Kamloops photographers reported that the British Columbia Wildfire Service was fighting the fires with water bombers taking water out of Paul Lake. 

This morning our city is cloaked in smoke. I didn't venture far to get my dismal photos. I drove down to Schubert Drive Lookout along the North Thompson River. 

The neighbourhoods are very quiet at 5 AM. It has been warm overnight (22 C) which encourages tents popping up in landscaped areas. Today, I found someone sprawled out on a lawn. I wondered if the home owners had any idea they played host overnight. 

I can smell and taste the smoke. I will definitely be inside for the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.